Global Superstar DJ & Producer Kygo Debuts Third Full-length Album ‘Golden Hour’

Traditionally, the golden hour marks either the first hour of light after sunrise or the last hour of light before sunset. In both cases, it heralds a change. Representing another new dawn, global superstar, producer and DJ, Kyrre Gørvell-Dahll – a.k.a Kygo, has today released his aptly-titled third full-length album Golden Hour via Columbia/Sony/Ultra Records.

The album features 18 songs including previously released singles “The Truth” with Valerie Broussard, “Lose Somebody” with OneRepublic, “Freedom” with Zak Abel, “I’ll Wait” with Sasha Sloan, “Like It Is” with Zara Larsson and Tyga, and “Higher Love” with Whitney Houston, the latter of which has more than 651 million audio and video streams combined and charted at No.2 on the UK chart. Kygo kicked off his album release day with performances of “Lose Somebody” with OneRepublic and “The Truth” with Valerie Broussard on Good Morning America’s Summer Concert Series.

Listen to Kygo‘s ‘Golden Hour‘ EP on Spotify


During 2018, Kygo began to assemble what would become Golden Hour between a marathon of touring. While writing music throughout the year, he simultaneously partnered with Sony to launch his own label and management company, Palm Tree Records. Taking an active role in signing and promoting artists, songwriters, and producers, he hit his stride in the studio alongside Palm Tree talent, including Petey, Nick Furlong, Valerie Broussard, and Dreamlab. This “family” approach added a new dimension to the process.

“I was fortunate enough to work with some of my favorite artists and writers on Golden Hour, There are quite a few songs on the album where I had the chance to collaborate with our team. These are artists I believe in. Working with some of my favorite up-and-coming musicians really made these songs special for the album.” – Kygo

Golden Hour also sees Kygo’s genre-breaking vision come to life. His single “Like It Is” with Zara Larsson and Tyga spotlighted co-production by Petey and represented another progression by incorporating hip-hop verses. Kygo’s melodies, airy drums, and delicate piano locked into a matchmade in heaven with Zara Larsson’s voice as Tyga turned up on a nimbly rhymed cameo. On its heels, he reunited with Sasha Sloan for the soulful tropical house anthem “I’ll Wait.” Elsewhere, “Freedom” with Zak Abel elevated his signature sound with a steeple-size vocal performance from Abel. Valerie Broussard lent her voice to “The Truth” and “Don’t Give Up On Me,” and Nick Furlong co-wrote “Someday” and “Say You Will.” These 18 songs illuminate the scope of Kygo’s creativity and the bold breaking light of Golden Hour.

“With every album or next song I’m working on, I always try pushing myself to evolve and experiment with new ideas, I couldn’t be more proud of these 18 songs. It was really hard to narrow the final tracklist to just 18. The album has a few songs that are more up-tempo than my earlier albums, but still have the classic ‘Kygo’ sound.” – Kygo

Connect with Kygo on Socials

WebsiteFacebook | Instagram | Soundcloud | Spotify